October News

International Rehab Symposium

International Rehabilitation Symposium, August 2010

Reflecting back on this past Spring and Summer I recognize it as having been pretty fast paced. In light of running a full practice while doing a lot of clinics and seminars and taking the invitations to speak at several conferences, has kept me on the move. By years end there will have been eleven engagements including besides the USA, Canada, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, England, Scotland, Denmark, and Sweden. I was very privileged to teach the equine section for the International Veterinary Acupuncture Society’s sanctioned veterinary courses in Australia and Germany.

What I recognize is that every time I present, I also learn and hone my skills and knowledge base. I learn from other clinicians, and I, invariably, learn from attendees at my seminars and clinics. That opens the way for me to be able to help more horses and their owners to know more and have fewer health and performance problems with their horses. That also translates to fewer veterinary bills and allows veterinarians to use more of their time in preventative medicine instead of repairing damage.

Through all of the events of the Spring and Summer many ideas started to coalesce into a more cohesive and complete system of diagnosis and treatment. I have come to find common denominators to problems such as High Heel / Low Heel Syndrome in the horse; muscles in the mouth and neck that affect the ability of the horse to properly use his shoulders and forehand; I have realized an incredible connection between the Psoas muscle group and so many problems of the croup and actually the entire hind quarters; and most common denominator of all, I have come to recognize that nearly all horses have an acquired crookedness that can set up nearly all the problems that I address in my work. This list includes joint issues, muscle issues, fascial issues, shoeing issues and, of course, saddle fit. So! Crookedness must be exposed and addressed!

I have also continued to perfect a system that allows a remarkably accurate clinical diagnosis of ulcers in the digestive track of the horses. I feel that there are only two kinds of horses – those that have ulcers and those who will have ulcers at some point in their lives. In my opinion, what we currently know of ulcers is just the tip of the iceberg. Digging deeper into the ramifications is still part of my passion.

Speaking of passion, through all the coalescing of new knowledge, I am finally ready to start work on a book. I am very passionate, excited, worried, empowered, overwhelmed – but ready to start –  and have laid out the groundwork for what will likely be a daunting project. I also know that nearly every book that is published is “out of date” and in need of revision from its very first day on the shelf.

In every lecture series, I always point out that “Today’s best information and truths are tomorrow’s misinformation and falsehoods.” I always have a plentiful supply of black feathers protruding from my mouth from eating crow. They are evidence my past “truths” having turned into misinformation. And that is OK, because knowledge is empowering.

Future blogs will contain bits and pieces from the book. I haven’t yet decided on a title. Input from you, my readers, will only make the book better. Feel free to join in.

My ongoing goal is to promote the legitimate and appropriate meshing of Integrative Equine Medicine with good “Conventional” Equine Medicine for the betterment of the horse.

One Response to “October News”

  1. Susan Says:

    I am interested in your thoughts on Crooked horses. What do you think about Dr. Lauren DeRock’s Sacro-Sciatic Syndrome theory? It is all about horses and how their leaning/crookedness shows up as problems. http://www.drderock.com/upside.html
    I am constantly seeing crookedness cause saddle fit problems. Unfortunately, it is all related. The question is how to fix the crookedness in order to fix the saddle fit. Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

